The Colorado Energy Research Collaboratory is a research consortium of four research institutions.

  • Colorado School of Mines (CSM)
  • Colorado State University (CSU)
  • National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL)
  • University of Colorado Boulder (CU).

Learn more about the research institutions.

The Collaboratory conducts research through a series of research centers, each of which is managed by a team of leading academics and researchers in the relevant disciplines from the four Collaboratory institutions. Private industry members provide financial support and help guide the shared research program of their center. Learn more about the research centers.

Every activity of the Collaboratory is dependent upon close coordination and cooperation among the four institutions, from organizational structure through the performance of laboratory and field research. The success of the Collaboratory is a tribute to the commitment of the leadersof the four institutions and to our industry members.

The organizational body of the Collaboratory consists of a board of directors, executive board, institutional coordinators, and research center leadership teams.

Board of Directors

The leaders of the four Collaboratory research institutions constitute the board of directors. These institutional leaders created the Collaboratory, defined the broad goals of the organization, and retain the ultimate authority over all Collaboratory decisions. Most importantly, the four leaders exemplify the personal and institutional commitment that is the foundation for the Collaboratory.

The board of directors is:

Philip P. DiStefano, Chancellor, CU
Anthony A. Frank, President, CSU
Paul C. Johnson, President, CSM
Martin Keller, Laboratory Director, NREL

Executive Board

Executive board members are the senior research officers of the four institutions. The executive board is responsible for establishing policy and procedures to achieve the goals established by the board of directors; ensuring that the Collaboratory centers' research is of the highest quality; and overseeing the Collaboratory's relationships with private industry and other public institutions. The executive director implements the directions and policies of the executive board.

The executive board members are:

Anthony Dean, Vice President for Research and Technology Transfer, CSM
Terri Fiez, Vice Chancellor for Research, CU
Barbara Goodman, Associate Laboratory Director, Mechanical and Systems Engineering, NREL
Alan Rudolph, Vice President for Research, CSU

David Hiller, Executive Director

Institutional Coordinators

The institutional coordinators are highly respected researchers and administrators from each of the four Collaboratory institutions with the responsibility of supervising the Collaboratory research centers. Responsibilities include tracking all research on their respective campuses in areas of interest to the Collaboratory and following Collaboratory research on the other three campuses. They regularly communicate with the center leadership teams, each other, and the executive board.

The institutional coordinators are:

Patricia Rankin, Senior Associate Vice Chancellor for Research, CU
John Spear, Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering, CSM
Bryan Willson, Program Director, ARPA-E and CSU Exec Director, Energy Institute, CSU

Research Center Leadership Teams

Research center leadership teams comprise at least one representative from each Collaboratory research institution. These leadership teams organize their research centers around areas of outstanding capabilities and complementary programs on the four campuses, focused upon the priorities of the industry members. Center Leaders identify and recruit senior researchers on the campuses, enroll private industry members, and pursue private and public research contracts and grants. Each center leadership team also coordinates the shared (public) research and sponsored (proprietary) research programs of its research center, center-based student fellowships, and special activities, such as short courses for industry members or the national research community.